General Usage Tips

TTG CE2 Publisher, and Lightroom's publish services in general, can be easily tripped-up. Below are some tips to help ensure that albums and photos remain consistent between Lightroom and the destination server:

  • Only publish to a server instance from one instance of Lightroom. Lightroom publishing is a one-way process, and the albums can not be created within Lightroom from albums created on the server from another PC.
  • Do not manually delete files under galleries. Let the Publisher manage these in all respects - adding, updating deleting of photos, albums and album sets. If you must delete items manually from your server, then all contents under galleries should be removed, and all albums/album sets removed within Lightroom.
  • Should publishing fail part-way through, a gallery can remain in an inconsistent state, for example including items that do not have all required renditions such as broken thumbnails. The best solution is to click Publish until all images are published. After this is complete Publisher will attempt to clean up any partly-uploaded entries.
  • A given website should only be published to from a single Lightroom catalog. One catalog can not see another's published collections, in a similar way to trying to publish to the one website from two copies of Lightroom.
  • After changing settings in the Publisher settings, Lightroom will prompt you to republish all galleries. It is usually best to click Leave As-Is and re-publish galleries manually as needed.

Having said that, we hope that Lightroom offers flexibility above that published here. We have not covered setting up multiple publish services for the TTG CE2 Publisher plugin, to either different servers entirely, or pushing to different directories for 'galleries'. You're encouraged to click around the publish services section and try different setups, bearing in mind the usage tips above.

Print/export