Reloading Lightroom's Preview

Core Elements 2 engines support manual reload of the page preview, meaning that to see changes made to configuration options, users must trigger a reload of the preview manually. Lightroom will not do it for you. There are several ways to accomplish this.

Go through the menu

You may instigate a page reload by selecting “Reload” from the Web menu:

Web, Reload

Use the keyboard shortcut

On LR/Mac, press CMD-R to incite a reload.

On LR/Win, press CTRL-R to force reload.

BUG ALERT

Lightroom 3.x for Windows includes a reload bug which prevents the above reload methods from working. Selecting “Reload” from the menu or using the CTRL-R shortcut will cause the PC to produce an audible 'click', but will not reload the preview. Adobe has been notified of this bug, and we await repair.

As a workaround, we provide the following method of reloading your page …

Click the Reload notice

Click the reload notice to reload the page.

In the bottom-right corner of the preview, CE2 engines provide this friendly reminder of how to refresh the preview with changes. Clicking directly on this notice will trigger a page reload using Javascript.

Until Adobe fixes the reload bug, LR/Win users should use this method of reloading their page.

Other Actions Triggering Reload

A few other actions will also trigger Lightroom to reload the preview.

  1. Adjusting the JPG Quality slider will trigger a preview reload as Lightroom generates new image renditions.
  2. When Use: Selected Images is set in the toolbar, adding or removing selections in the filmstrip will trigger reload as Lightroom updates the images in use.
  3. Exiting and returning to the Web module will cause the preview to load anew.
Print/export